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Executive Summary 
Texas is generally considered one of the states with the lowest cost of living and affordable 
housing in the United States.  

Exhibit 1 illustrates the Texas residential mortgage loan volume (the number and dollar amount 
of loans) for home purchase loans, property tax loans, refinances, home improvement loans, 
home equity loans (cash-out refinances), and reverse mortgages from calendar years (CY) 2022 
to 2023. 

EXHIBIT 1 – TEXAS RESIDENTIAL MORTGAGE LOAN VOLUME 
Home Purchase Loan 

CY2022 CY2023 YoY % change 
Number of Loans 387,776 328,191 -15.37% 
Amount of Loans $133,689,000,000 $112,122,000,000 -16.13% 

Property Tax Loan 
 CY2022 CY2023 YoY % change 
Number of Loans 6,346 7,642 20.42% 
Amount of Loans $92,185,081 $114,390,538 24.09% 

Refinance 
 CY2022 CY2023 YoY % change 
Number of Loans 61,371 17,103 -72.13% 
Amount of Loans $16,406,930,000 $5,130,870,000 -68.73% 

Home Improvement Loan 
 CY2022 CY2023 YoY % change 
Number of Loans 22,393 17,496 -21.87% 
Amount of Loans $3,102,785,000 $2,117,720,000 -31.75% 

Home Equity Loan (Cash-out Refinance) 
CY2022 CY2023 YoY % change 

Number of Loans 96,111 39,038 -59.38% 
Amount of Loans $24,003,515,000 $7,681,850,000 -68.00% 

Reverse Mortgage 
CY2022 CY2023 YoY % change 

Number of Loans 3,807 2,060 -45.89% 
Amount of Loans $707,185,000 $339,260,000 -52.03% 

Except for property tax loans, the number and dollar amount of residential mortgage loans 
significantly declined from CY2022 to CY2023. The decline in residential mortgage loan 
transactions is driven by several factors, including rising mortgage interest rates, appreciating 
home prices, housing supply issues, higher insurance costs, and reduced real median income.  

Using the nationwide Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (HMDA) data, the Consumer Financial 
Protection Bureau (CFPB) reported that: 

The Federal Housing Administration (FHA)-insured share of closed-end first-lien 
home purchase loans for 1-4 family, site-built, owner-occupied properties 
increased from 16.3 percent in 2022 to 19.8 percent in 2023. The Department of 
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Veterans Affairs (VA)-guaranteed share of such loans increased slightly to 10.6 
percent in 2023. The overall government-backed share of such home purchase 
loans, including FHA, VA, Rural Housing Service, and Farm Service Agency loans, 
was 31.6 percent in 2023, up from 28.1 percent in 2022. 

The FHA-insured share of closed-end refinance mortgages for first lien, 1-4 family, 
site-built, owner-occupied properties increased to 26.3 percent in 2023 from 10.4 
percent in 2022, while the VA-guaranteed share of such refinance loans increased 
from 9.5 percent in 2022 to 12.1 percent in 2023.1 (CFPB, 2024) 

Purpose 
The purpose of this report is to fulfill the mandated constitutional requirement to report residential 
mortgage lending activity in Texas.  

Specifically, Article XVI, Section 50(s) of the Texas Constitution provides that: “[t]he Finance 
Commission of Texas shall appoint a director to conduct research on the availability, quality, and 
prices of financial services and research the practices of business entities in the state that provide 
financial services under this section. The director shall collect information and produce reports on 
lending activity of those making loans under this section. The director shall report his or her 
findings to the legislature not later than December 1 of each year.” 

Introduction 
The Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending (SML) is a state regulatory agency with 
jurisdiction over the state savings banks and residential mortgage industries in Texas. In the state 
savings bank industry, SML supervises 20 state savings banks with assets totaling $316.6 billion 
as of June 20, 2024.  

In the mortgage industry, SML is responsible for licensing/registration and supervising residential 
mortgage loan companies, mortgage bankers, residential mortgage loan servicers, wrap lenders, 
and individual residential mortgage loan originators sponsored by mortgage companies/mortgage 
bankers. Based on Nationwide Multistate Licensing System & Registry (NMLS) records, SML 
regulates 4,589 mortgage entities, as shown in the pie chart below. 

1 Summary of 2023 Data on Mortgage Lending | Consumer Financial Protection Bureau 

3515
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416

Mortgage Entities as of 10-31-2024
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Mortgage Servicer

Independent Contractor
Procesor/Underwriter
Company

https://www.consumerfinance.gov/data-research/hmda/summary-of-2023-data-on-mortgage-lending/
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Mortgage companies and mortgage bankers are responsible for originating residential mortgage 
loans in Texas through licensed individual residential mortgage loan originators. 
 
Depository institutions, mortgage bankers, and residential mortgage loan servicers mainly handle 
the servicing of residential mortgage loans. 
 
The share of mortgages originated by non-depository, independent mortgage companies/bankers 
has increased in recent years. In 2023, this group of lenders accounted for 63.1 percent of first 
lien, 1-4 family, site-built, owner-occupied, closed-end home-purchase loans, an increase from 
60.2 percent in 2022. Independent mortgage companies/bankers also originated 67.1 percent of 
first lien, 1-4 family, site-built, owner-occupied, closed-end refinance loans, up from 62.1 percent 
in 2022. (CFPB, 2024)2 

Data Sources 
The information collected in this report is from the following data sources: 

(1) the Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (HMDA) data reported by depository and non-
depository institutions as required by Regulation C, 12 C.F.R. §1003.1 et seq., and 
maintained by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB); 

(2) the aggregated, anonymized mortgage call report data and NMLS data for non-depository 
mortgage companies and mortgage bankers licensed by or registered with SML; 

(3) the property tax lending and manufactured housing data from the Office of Consumer 
Credit Commissioner’s (OCCC) Financial Services Activity Reports;  

(4) the Texas A&M Real Estate Center;  
(5) the Texas Department of Insurance; and 
(6) other publicly available information from reliable sources such as Housing and Urban 

Development, Department of Veterans Affairs, United States Department of Agriculture, 
Freddie Mae, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, and Mortgage Bankers Association. 

 
Unless otherwise indicated, the data used in this Report is based on Texas data. 

Data Limitations 
The HMDA and OCCC Financial Services Activity Report data include some loan data for 
residential properties (personal, family, or household purposes) that involve non-homestead 
properties (e.g. vacation homes). 
 
On September 23, 2022, the United States District Court for the District of Columbia issued an 
order vacating the 2020 HMDA Final Rule as to the loan volume reporting threshold for closed-
end mortgage loans. The decision means that the threshold for reporting data on closed-end 
mortgage loans is now 25 loans in each of the two preceding calendar years, which is the 
threshold established by the 2015 HMDA Final Rule, rather than the 100 loan threshold set by the 
2020 HMDA Final Rule.3 (Woody Anglade, 2022).4 As the CFPB did not require companies to 
revise their closed-end mortgage loan data collected in 2020, 2021, and 2022 from 100 to 25 
transactions, the closed-end mortgage data may be underreported for these years.  

 
2 Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Summary of 2023 Data on Mortgage Lending 
3 Changes to HMDA’s closed-end loan reporting threshold | Consumer Financial Protection Bureau 
4 Changes to HMDA’s closed-end loan reporting threshold | Consumer Financial Protection Bureau 

https://www.consumerfinance.gov/data-research/hmda/summary-of-2023-data-on-mortgage-lending/
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/about-us/blog/changes-to-hmda-closed-end-loan-reporting-threshold/
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/about-us/blog/changes-to-hmda-closed-end-loan-reporting-threshold/
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Permissible Liens Against the Homestead in the Texas Constitution 
Article XVI, Section 50(a)(1) – (a)(8) of the Texas Constitution only permits a security interest and 
possible forced sale of the homestead property in the following cases: (1) purchase money (home 
purchase loan); (2) ad valorem property taxes; (3) owelty of partition by a court order or by a 
written agreement of the parties to the partition, (4) refinance of a lien against the homestead 
including a payment of a federal tax lien resulting from the tax debt of both spouses, (5) home 
improvement, (6) home equity, (7) reverse mortgage, or (8) conversion and refinance of a 
personal property lien secured by a manufactured home to a lien on real property. The remainder 
of this report will provide details for each of these types of extensions of credit and include 
references to each paragraph of the Texas Constitution referenced above. 
  

Purchase Money (Section 50(a)(1)) 
Overview 
 
A home purchase loan or a purchase-money loan is a closed-end mortgage loan or an open-end 
line of credit that is for the purpose, in whole or in part, of purchasing a dwelling.5  
 
A dwelling is a residential structure, whether or not attached to real property. The term includes a 
detached home, an individual condominium or cooperative unit, a manufactured home or other 
factory-built home, or a multifamily residential structure or community.6 
 
A home purchase loan may be secured by a first-lien or junior-lien mortgage, with most being first-
lien mortgages.  
 
When purchasing a home, a borrower must take into account several factors, including the 
following: 
 

1. the amount of the down payment saved; 
2. the total cost of the loan, including interest, mortgage insurance premiums, and closing 

costs;  
3. the interest rate (note rate and annual percentage rate); 
4. the term of the loan (the number of payments); and  
5. the purchase price of the home.  

 
Excluding special programs offered by state or local housing agencies and special purpose credit 
programs, there are four types of home purchase loans - (1) conventional, (2) Federal Housing 
Administration (FHA); (3) Veterans Administration (VA); and (4) United States Department of 
Agricultural (USDA). FHA, VA, and USDA loans are loans insured or guaranteed by a government 
agency.  
 
The most common home purchase loan is a conventional loan, which costs less than government-
insured or government-guaranteed home loans but is more difficult to obtain (higher down 
payment and stricter credit terms).  
 
If the borrower makes a down payment of less than 20 percent of the purchase price, the lender 
may require the borrower to pay an upfront and ongoing mortgage insurance premium. A 

 
5 Regulation C, 12 C.F.R. § 1003.2 
6 Regulation C, 12 C.F.R. § 1003.2, Regulation Z, 12 C.F.R. § 1026.2 

https://www.consumerfinance.gov/rules-policy/regulations/1003/2/
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/rules-policy/regulations/1003/2/
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-12/chapter-X/part-1026/subpart-A#1026.2
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mortgage insurance premium is an amount paid by the borrower to protect the holder of the 
promissory note (the instrument where the borrower agrees to pay back the principal, interest, 
and other fees to the lender) in the case the borrower defaults on the loan where there is a 
deficiency balance owed by the borrower after the foreclosure sale.  
 
Borrowers usually opt for a government-insured or government-guaranteed home loan when the 
borrower does not have the necessary down payment or credit history for a conventional loan. 
 
FHA loans are home loans issued or guaranteed by the Federal Housing Administration. FHA 
loans require a lower down payment but require the payment of an upfront FHA mortgage 
insurance premium, which remains the same cost regardless of the borrower’s credit score. FHA 
mortgage insurance also includes an ongoing mortgage insurance premium that is included in the 
cost of the borrower’s monthly payment. 
 
USDA loans are home loans issued or guaranteed by the United States Department of Agriculture. 
A USDA loan requires no down payment but is only offered to low-to-middle-income borrowers in 
rural areas. A USDA loan has an upfront and ongoing mortgage insurance premium similar to an 
FHA loan. To obtain a USDA loan, a borrower must: 

• provide evidence of citizenship status (U.S. citizen, U.S. non-citizen national, or qualified 
alien); 

• purchase a principal residence in an eligible rural area, which the USDA defines as having 
a population of fewer than 35,000 residents7; 

• have a household adjusted income that does not exceed 115% of the median salary for 
the area where the home is purchased; and 

• demonstrate the ability to repay the loan. 
 
VA loans are guaranteed by the Department of Veterans’ Affairs and are only for active-duty 
service members, veterans, and their surviving spouses. Unlike FHA and USDA loans, a VA loan 
does not have mortgage insurance premiums but has an upfront fee used to fund the program 
(funding fee). The amount of the funding fee varies on the following factors:  

• the type of military service; 
• the down payment amount; 
• the disability status of the borrower; 
• whether the borrower is buying a home or refinancing; and 
• whether it is the borrower’s first VA loan, or subsequent VA loan (i.e., the member has 

used part of their entitlement) 
 
In lieu of the mortgage insurance premiums and funding fees, a lender may offer the borrower the 
ability to pay a portion of the purchase price of the home using a secondary mortgage loan (usually 
5 to 15% of the purchase price) to avoid the cost and expense of upfront and ongoing mortgage 
insurance premiums and VA funding fees. This type of secondary mortgage loan is called a “piggy-
back mortgage.” Piggy-back mortgages have additional costs that may make them more costly 
and less attractive than an FHA, VA, or USDA home loan.  
 
Another type of junior-lien home purchase loan is a wrap mortgage loan. A wrap mortgage 
loan is defined as “a residential mortgage loan:  

 
(A) made to finance the purchase of residential real estate that will continue to be subject to 
an unreleased lien that: 

 
7 42 U.S.C. § 1490 

https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/COMPS-10349/pdf/COMPS-10349.pdf
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(i) attached to the residential real estate before the loan was made; and  
(ii) secures a debt incurred by a person other than the wrap borrower that was not paid 
off at the time the loan was made; and 

(B) obligating the wrap borrower to the wrap lender for payment of a debt the principal amount 
of which includes:  

(i) the outstanding balance of the debt described by Paragraph (A)(ii); and  
(ii) any remaining amount of the purchase price financed by the wrap lender.8 

 
Wrap mortgage loans have numerous restrictions and may be one of the most expensive home 
purchase loans.  
 

Fees, Limitations, and Restrictions 
 
Exhibit 2 – Home Purchase Loan contains key terms, limitations, and restrictions for home 
purchase loans.  

 
EXHIBIT 2 

HOME PURCHASE LOAN 

Maximum Loan Limit 
for single-family 
residential property  
(CY 2024) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

FHA loan $498,257 to $571,550, depending on 
the MSA (Texas)9 

VA loan If full entitlement is 
available, none 

If partial 
entitlement 
is available, 
the loan 
limit is 
$766,550 

USDA loan  Market Value of the Property plus the 
up-front loan guarantee fee10 

Conventional loan  None, but Federal Housing Finance 
Agency establishes a maximum 
conforming loan limit of $766,550 in 
Texas 

Maximum Interest 
Rate 

18%11 (Texas law; however, some federal programs establish a lower 
rate) 

Required Waiting 
Period for Closing 

7 business days12 unless there is a bona fide personal financial 
emergency 

Required 
Downpayment 

FHA loan Credit Score of 580 or 
higher 

3.50% of 
the loan 
amount 

Credit Score of 500 to 
579 

10% of the 
loan amount 

VA loan None 
USDA loan None 

 
8 Tex. Fin. Code, § 159.001(7) 
9 FHA Mortgage Limits List – FHA Forward (Texas) 
10 7 C.F.R. §3555.103 
11 Tex. Fin. Code, § 303.009 and § 342.301 
12 Regulation Z, 12 C.F.R. § 1026.19(a)(2) and (e)(1)(iii) 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.159.htm#159.001
https://entp.hud.gov/idapp/html/hicost1.cfm
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-7/subtitle-B/chapter-XXXV/part-3555/subpart-C/section-3555.103
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.303.htm#303.009
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.342.htm#342.301
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-12/chapter-X/part-1026/subpart-C#1026.19
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EXHIBIT 2 
HOME PURCHASE LOAN 

Conventional loan Usually, 5 to 20% of the loan amount 
Charges and Fees Texas – direct first-lien loan 

and junior-lien with an 
effective rate of 10% or less 

Reasonable and customary amounts 

Texas – direct junior-lien 
loan with an effective rate 
greater than 10% (Tex. Fin. 
Code Ch. 342, Sub. G 
secondary mortgage loan) 

For a closed-end secondary mortgage 
loan, the following fees13 are 
permissible: 
(1) reasonable fees for: 
(A) title examination and preparation of 
an abstract of title by: 
(i) an attorney who is not an employee 
of the lender; or 
(ii) a title company or property search 
company authorized to do business in 
this state; or 
(B) premiums or fees for title insurance 
or title search for the benefit of the 
mortgagee and, at the mortgagor’s 
option, for title insurance or title search 
for the benefit of the mortgagor; 
(2) reasonable fees charged to the 
lender by an attorney who is not a 
salaried employee of the lender for 
preparation of the loan documents in 
connection with the mortgage loan if 
the fees are evidenced by a statement 
for services rendered; 
(3) charges prescribed by law that are 
paid to public officials for determining 
the existence of a security interest or 
for perfecting, releasing, or satisfying a 
security interest; 
(4) reasonable fees for an appraisal of 
real property offered as security for the 
loan prepared by an appraiser who is 
not a salaried employee of the lender; 
(5) the reasonable cost of a credit 
report; 
(6) reasonable fees for a survey of real 
property offered as security for the loan 
prepared by a registered surveyor who 
is not a salaried employee of the 
lender; 
(7) the premiums received in 
connection with the sale of credit life 
insurance, credit accident and health 

 
13 Tex. Fin. Code § 342.308 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.342.htm#342.308
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EXHIBIT 2 
HOME PURCHASE LOAN 

insurance, or other insurance that 
protects the mortgagee against default 
by the mortgagor, the benefits of which 
are applied in whole or in part to 
reduce or extinguish the loan balance; 
or  
(8) reasonable fees relating to real 
property offered as security for the loan 
that are incurred to comply with a 
federally mandated program if a 
federal agency requires the collection 
of the fees or the participation in the 
program; and  
(9) an administrative fee, subject to 
Subsection I, in an amount not to 
exceed $25 for a loan of more than 
$1,000 or $20 for a loan of $1,000 or 
less. 
 

FHA loan In addition to the up-front mortgage 
insurance premium of 1.75% of the 
loan balance, a lender may charge the 
borrower the following fees: 

• origination fees 
• discount points 
• lock-in and rate lock fees 
• per diem interest 
• reasonable and customary fees 

to include recording fees, credit 
report, survey fees, title 
insurance/examination, 
appraisal.14  

VA loan A lender may charge the borrower the 
following fees and charges15: 

• flat charge not exceeding 1 
percent of the amount of the 
loan by the lender; 

• reasonable discount points; 
• VA funding fee; 
• appraisal fees (VA-approved 

appraisal only); 
• recording fees; 
• credit report fees; 

 
14 24 C.F.R. § 203.27 and FHA Single Family Housing Policy Handbook 
15 38 C.F.R. § 36.4313 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-B/part-203#203.17
https://www.hud.gov/sites/dfiles/OCHCO/documents/40001-hsgh-update15-052024.pdf
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EXHIBIT 2 
HOME PURCHASE LOAN 

• prepaid items for taxes, 
assessments, and similar 
items; 

• hazard insurance; 
• survey fees; 
• title examination and title 

insurance fees; 
• flood determination fee; 
• MERS fee; and  
• other fees authorized in 

advance by the VA. 
 

USDA loan The allowable fees and charges16 are: 
• legal, architectural, and 

engineering fees; 
• title exam, title clearance and 

title insurance; 
• transfer taxes and recordation 

fees; 
• appraisal, property inspection, 

surveying, environmental, tax 
monitoring, and technical 
services; 

• homeownership education. 
• reasonable and customary loan 

discount points to reduce the 
note interest rate from the rate 
authorized in § 3555.104(a). 

• reasonable and customary non-
recurring closing costs 
associated with the mortgage 
transaction that do not exceed 
those charged other applicants 
by the lender for similar 
transactions such as FHA-
insured or VA-guaranteed first 
mortgage loans. If the lender 
does not participate in such 
programs, the loan closing 
costs may not exceed those 
charged other applicants by the 
lender for a similar loan 
program that requires 
conventional mortgage 
insurance or guarantee. 

 
16 7 C.F.R. §3555.101 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-7/section-3555.104#p-3555.104(a)
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-7/subtitle-B/chapter-XXXV/part-3555/subpart-C#3555.101
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EXHIBIT 2 
HOME PURCHASE LOAN 

Allowable closing costs include 
the actual cost of credit reports, 
the loan origination fee, 
settlement fee, deposit 
verification fees, document 
preparation fees (if performed 
by a third party not controlled 
by the lender), and other 
reasonable and customary 
costs as determined by Rural 
Development. Payment of 
finder’s fees or placement fees 
for the referral of an applicant 
to the lender Is prohibited. 

• Reasonable connection fees, 
assessments, or the pro rata 
installment costs for utilities 
such as water, sewer, electricity 
and gas for which the borrower 
is responsible. 

• The prorated portion of real 
estate taxes that is due and 
payable on the property at the 
time of closing and to establish 
escrow accounts for real estate 
taxes, hazard and flood 
insurance premiums, and 
related costs. 

• The amount of the loan up-front 
guarantee fee required by § 
3555.107(g). 

• The cost of establishing a 
cushion in the mortgage 
escrow account for payment of 
the annual fee required by § 
3555.107(h), not to exceed 2 
months. 

• If the seller or other third party 
pays any of the costs described 
in this section, the amount of 
the costs paid by the seller or 
other third party may not be 
included in the loan amount to 
be guaranteed. 

 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-7/section-3555.107#p-3555.107(g)
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-7/section-3555.107#p-3555.107(g)
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-7/section-3555.107#p-3555.107(h)
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-7/section-3555.107#p-3555.107(h)
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EXHIBIT 2 
HOME PURCHASE LOAN 

Late Fees Texas law First-lien subject to 
DIDMCA17  

No limits 

Junior Lien with an 
effective rate of 10% or 
less 

Greater of 
5% of the 
payment 
amount or 
$7.50 after 
10 days 
after the 
due date18 

Junior-lien with an 
effective rate greater 
than 10% 

5% of the 
payment 
amount 
after 10 
days after 
the due 
date19 

FHA loan20 and VA loan21 4% of the past due amount that is 15 
days after the due date 

Maximum Term of 
the Loan 

Texas law None 
FHA loan22 30 years 
USDA loan23 30 years 
Conventional loan None 

Required State 
Disclosures 

If a wrap mortgage was obtained to purchase the homestead property, 
the wrap disclosure required by Tex. Fin. Code, § 159.101.  

Balloon Payment 
Permissible 

Texas law Yes, unless prohibited by federal law. 
FHA, 24  VA,25 and USDA 
loans26 

No 

Housing Counseling 
Required 

No, except if the loan is a high-cost mortgage loan 

Right of Rescission   None 
Prepayment Penalty 
Allowed 

Texas  
 

First-lien 
mortgage and 
junior-lien 
mortgage loans 
with an effective 
rate of 10% or 
less 

No, if the interest rate on a loan 
for property that is or is to be the 
residential homestead of the 
borrower is greater than 12 
percent a year, a prepayment 
penalty may not be collected on 
the loan unless the penalty is 

 
17 Tex. Fin. Code, § 302.103 
18 Tex. Fin. Code, § 302.001(d) 
19 Tex. Fin. Code, § 342.302 
20 24 C.F.R. §203.25 
21 38 C.F.R. §36.4212(d) 
22 24 C.F.R. § 203.17(d) 
23 7 C.F.R. §3555.104(b) 
24 24 C.F.R. §203.21 
25 38 C.F.R. §36.4211 
26 7 C.F.R. §3555.104 

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/fids/202105163-1.pdf
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.302.htm#302.103
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.302.htm#302.001
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.342.htm#342.302
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-B/part-203#203.25
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-38/chapter-I/part-36#36.4212
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-B/part-203#203.17
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-7/subtitle-B/chapter-XXXV/part-3555#3555.104
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-B/part-203#203.21
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-38/chapter-I/part-36#36.4211
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-7/subtitle-B/chapter-XXXV/part-3555/subpart-C#3555.104
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EXHIBIT 2 
HOME PURCHASE LOAN 

required by an agency created by 
federal law.27  
(Federal law may prohibit the 
prepayment penalty) 

Texas – direct 
junior-lien loan 
with an effective 
rate greater than 
10% (Tex. Fin. 
Code, Ch. 342, 
Sub. G 
secondary 
mortgage loan) 

No28 

FHA29, VA,30 
and USDA 
loans31 

No 

Negative 
Amortization 

No32 

 

Loans Made Statistics 
 
Exhibit 3 includes the lending activity for home purchase loan transactions over the past five 
calendar years. 
 

EXHIBIT 3 
Home Purchase Loan – Loans Made Statistics per calendar year 

 CY2019 CY2020 CY2021 CY2022 CY2023 
Number 
of Loans 378,368 433,069 451,879 387,776 328,191 

Amount 
of Loans $94,117,115,000 $114,662,000,000 $135,961,000,000 $133,689,000,000 $112,122,000,000 

Average 
Loan 
Amount 

$248,744.91 $264,766.12 $300,879.22 $344,758.31 $341,636.43 

Average 
Closing 
Costs 

$6,054.05 $6,304.46 $6,657.45 $8,515.63 $23,051.68 

Average 
Interest 
Rate 

4.46% 3.39% 3.24% 5.02% 6.48% 

Source: HMDA Data – CFPB 
 

 
27 Tex. Fin. Code, § 302.102 
28 Tex. Fin. Code, § 342.502 
29 24 C.F.R. §203.22 
30 38 C.F.R. § 36.4211 
31 7 C.F.R. § 3555.104 
32 7 C.F.R. §3555.104 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.302.htm#302.102
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.342.htm#342.502
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-B/part-203#203.22
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-38/chapter-I/part-36#36.4211
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-7/subtitle-B/chapter-XXXV/part-3555/subpart-C#3555.104
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-7/subtitle-B/chapter-XXXV/part-3555/subpart-C#3555.104
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From CY2022 to CY2023, the number and dollar amount of home purchase loans made in Texas 
declined 15.37% and 16.13%, respectively. The decline in home purchase loans is primarily 
attributable to the increasing mortgage interest rates and restrictive housing supply.  
 
The most significant change from CY2022 to CY2023 was the sudden increase in closing costs 
from $8,515.63 to $23,051.68. Although the exact reasons for the rapid rise in closing costs are 
unknown, some factors attributed to the rapid increase in closing costs are higher homeowner’s 
insurance premiums (21.2% rate increase) and higher origination fees and discount points. 
Approximately 10.5% of the change in closing costs was attributable to the rise in the dollar 
amount of origination fees and discount points from CY2022 to CY2023, as shown in Exhibit 4.  
 

EXHIBIT 4 
ORIGINATION AND DISCOUNT POINT INCREASES FROM CY22 TO CY23 

 Calendar Year 
2022 

Calendar Year 
2023 

Dollar 
Increase 

Year-over-year 
change% 

Origination Fees $ 3,355.83 $ 3,772.49 $    416.66 12.42% 
Discount Points $ 4,002.86 $ 5,110.51 $ 1,107.65 27.67% 

 Source: HMDA Data – CFPB 
 
The rise in discount points from 2022 to 2023 was highlighted in the CFPB’s Data Spotlight: 
Trends in discount points amid rising interest rates. The CFPB’s analysis revealed: 

 
 The majority of recent borrowers paid discount points, including nearly 9 out of 10 

borrowers with cash-out refinances. 
 More borrowers paid discount points as interest rates increased. 
 Borrowers with lower credit scores were more likely to pay discount points. 

 

Property Tax Loan (Section 50(a)(2)) 
Overview 
 
While Texas has no state property tax, local governments set tax rates and collect property taxes 
to provide many local services, including schools, roads, police, and fire protection.  
 
When a consumer is unable to pay the outstanding property taxes owed on the homestead 
property, the consumer can enter into a loan to pay the property taxes, and the lender may secure 
the loan using the consumer’s homestead property. The payment of property taxes can occur in 
a home purchase loan, refinance, home improvement loan, home equity loan; however, a property 
tax loan is the most common type of loan used to pay delinquent property taxes. 
 
A  property tax loan is: “an advance of money: (A) in connection with a transfer of lien under 
Section 32.06, Tax Code, or a contract under Section 32.065, Tax Code; (B) in connection with 
which the person making the transfer arranges for the payment, with a property owner's written 
consent, of property taxes and related closing costs on behalf of the property owner in accordance 
with Section 32.06, Tax Code; and (C) that is secured by a special lien against property transferred 
from a taxing unit to the property tax lender and which may be further secured by the lien or 
security interest created by a deed of trust, security deed, or other security instrument.”33 
 

 
33 Tex. Fin. Code, § 351.002(2) 

https://www.consumerfinance.gov/data-research/research-reports/data-spotlight-trends-in-discount-points-amid-rising-interest-rates/
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/data-research/research-reports/data-spotlight-trends-in-discount-points-amid-rising-interest-rates/
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.351.htm#351.002
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With the consent of the property tax owner, a property tax lender is allowed to transfer and assume 
the special lien created by the taxing units of the property. 
 
On January 1 of each year, a tax lien attaches to property to secure the payment of all taxes, 
penalties, and interest ultimately imposed for the year on the property, whether or not the taxes 
are imposed in the year the lien attaches. The lien exists in favor of each taxing unit having power 
to tax the property.34 
 
A tax lien against the real property is automatic and is perfected without any further action by the 
taxing unit. A tax lien on real property tax takes priority over a homestead interest in the property 
and virtually all other liens or encumbrances on the property including first and junior purchase-
money loans.35 
 
A property owner may authorize a third party to pay the real property owner’s property tax in 
exchange for a tax lien on the property which is transferred to the third party from the taxing 
unit(s).36 This authorized, private third party pays the taxes of another and is referred to as a 
“property tax lender” or a “transferee.” The loan that secures the transfer of a tax lien, reasonable 
closing costs, recording fees, and interest is called a “property tax loan.” 
 
A property tax loan is secured by a special lien against the property which is transferred from the 
taxing authority to the property tax lender and which may be further secured by the lien, or security 
interest created by a deed of trust, security deed, or other security instrument.   
 
A property tax loan may not be made if: 
 

1. the property owner, at the time of the property tax loan, is 65 years of age or older;37 
2. the sworn document authorizing the transfer of the tax lien from the taxing unit is not 

signed and obtained by the property tax lender;38 
3. the taxes are not delinquent at the time of the property tax loan, and the property is not 

subject to another recorded lien;39 
4. the taxes are neither due nor delinquent at the time of the property tax loan, and the 

property is not subject to another recorded lien;40  
5. the real property subject to the property tax loan has been financed, wholly or partly, with 

a grant or below-market rate loan provided by a governmental program or nonprofit 
organization and is subject to the covenants of the grant or loan;41 or 

6. the real property subject to the property tax loan is encumbered by a lien recorded under 
Chapter 214, Subchapter A, of the Texas Local Government Code as a substandard or 
dangerous structure42. 

 
 

 
34 Tex. Tax Code, § 32.01 
35 Tex. Tax Code, § 32.05 
36 Tex. Tax Code, § 32.06(a-1) 
37 Tex. Tax Code, § 32.06(a-3) 
38  Tex. Tax Code, § 32.06(a-7) 
39 Tex. Tax Code, §§ 32.06(a-2) and 32.06(a-7) 
40  Tex. Tax Code, §§ 32.06(a-2) and 32.06(a-7) 
41 Tex Tax Code, § 32.06(a-8) 
42 Tex Tax Code, § 32.06(a-8) 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.01
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.05
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.06
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.06
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.06
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.06
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.06
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.06
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.06
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Fees, Limitations, and Restrictions 
 
Exhibit 5 – Property Tax Loans contains key terms, limitations, and restrictions for property tax 
loans.  
 

EXHIBIT 5 

PROPERTY TAX LOANS 

Maximum Loan Limit  

(Funds Advanced)43 

 

 

The maximum property tax loan amount is limited to the 
Funds Advanced, which includes the following items: 

• taxes, penalties, interest, and collection costs 
paid as shown on the tax receipt; 

• expenses to record the lien; and 
• reasonable closing costs.  

Maximum Interest Rate 18%44  

Required Waiting Period for 
Closing 

None 

Maximum Closing Costs45 
(residential only) 

The general maximum fee for closing costs is $900. 

In addition to the general maximum fee, a property tax 
lender may have additional fees, including: 

• Additional Parcel Fee: If a property tax loan 
includes the payment of taxes for more than one 
parcel of real property, then the property tax 
lender may charge up to $100 for each additional 
parcel of property. 

• Title Defect Fee: If one or more documents must 
be prepared in order to address a defect in title 
on the real property subject to the property tax 
loan, then the property tax lender may charge a 
reasonable fee for costs directly incurred in 
preparing, executing, and recording any 
necessary documents. 

• Bona-fide Discount Points (restrictions apply) 
 

Late Fees46 5% of the scheduled installment if any part of the 
installment remains unpaid after the 10th day after the 
date the installment is due, including Sundays and 
holidays. 

 
43 Tex. Tax Code, § 32.06(e) 
44 Tex. Tax Code, § 32.06(e) 
45 Tex. Tax Code, § 32.06(a-4) and 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 89.601 
46 Tex. Tax Code, § 32.06(e-2) 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.06
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.06
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.06
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=5&ch=89&rl=601
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.06
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EXHIBIT 5 

PROPERTY TAX LOANS 

Maximum Term of the Loan There is no maximum term for a property tax loan; 
however, the term usually varies from one to several 
years. 

Required State Disclosures Property Tax Pre-Closing Disclosure47 (initial disclosure 
given to the borrower),  

Disclosure of the Type and Approximate Cost Range for 
Each Additional Charge48,  

Sworn Document Authorizing Transfer of Tax Lien49 
(authorization by the consumer to authorize the transfer 
of the tax lien), and  

Certified Statement of Transfer of Tax Lien50  

(the document transferring the tax lien from the taxing 
unit to the property tax lender) 

Balloon Payment Permissible Yes 

Housing Counseling Required There is no requirement for housing counseling on 
property tax loans. 

Right of Rescission   Yes51  

Prepayment Penalty52 Allowed No 

Negative Amortization No 

Key Restrictions and Limitations There are several other important restrictions and 
limitations on property tax loans, including: 

• Restrictions on post-closing and servicing fees53 
• Judicial foreclosure required54 
• Special rights of redemption after foreclosure55  

 

 
47 Tex. Tax Code, § 32.06(a-4)(1) and 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 89.504 
48 Tex. Tax Code, § 32.06(a-5), and § 32.065(f) 
49 Tex. Tax Code, § 32.06(a-1) and 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 89.701 
50 Tex. Tax Code, § 32.06(b) and 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 89.702 
51 Tex. Tax Code, § 32.06(d-1) 
52 Tex. Fin. Code, § 301.002(a)(15) defines a “prepayment penalty” as “consideration agreed on and contracted for a discharge of a 
loan, other than a loan governed by Chapter 306, before its maturity or a regularly scheduled date of payment, as a result of an 
obligor's election to pay all of the principal amount before its stated maturity or a regularly scheduled date of payment.” 
53 Tex. Fin. Code, § 351.0021 and Tex. Tax Code, § 32.06(e-1)  
54 Tex. Tax Code, § 32.06(c) 
55 Tex. Tax Code, § 32.06(k) and (k-1) 

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/fids/201704242-1.pdf
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/fids/202004328-1.pdf
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/fids/200903683-2.pdf
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.06
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=5&ch=89&rl=504
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.06
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.065
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.06
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=5&ch=89&rl=701
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.06
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=5&ch=89&rl=702
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.06
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.301.htm#301.002
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=FI&Value=306
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.351.htm#351.0021
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.06
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.06
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/TX/htm/TX.32.htm#32.06
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Loans Made Statistics 
 
Exhibit 6 includes the lending activity for residential property tax loan transactions over the past 
five calendar years. 
 

EXHIBIT 6 
Property Tax Loan – Loans Made Statistics per calendar year 

 CY2019 CY2020 CY2021 CY2022 CY2023 
Number 
of Loans  9,352   7,747   6,216   6,346   7,642  

Amount 
of Loans  $121,523,608   $100,259,930   $109,552,754   $92,185,081   $114,390,538  

Average 
Loan 
Amount 

 $12,994.00   $12,942.00   $17,624.00   $14,526.00   $14,969.00  

Average 
Closing 
Costs 

 $777.00   $822.00   $672.00   $830.00   $758.00  

Average 
Interest 
Rate 

13.32 13.09 12.71 12.99 14.00 

Source: OCCC Financial Services Activity Reports 
 
From CY2022 to CY2023, the number and dollar amount of property tax loans made in Texas 
increased 20.42% and 24.09%, respectively. These numbers appear to be in line with the volume 
over the past five calendar years.  
 

Owelty of Partition by a Court Order or Written Agreement (Section 
50(a)(3)) 
Overview 
 
Texas law permits an owner of homestead property to obtain a loan to pay off another owner so 
long as the partition is against the entirety of the property and is imposed by a court order or 
written agreement of the parties.56 An owelty lien is most often created as a result of divorce 
proceeding where real property is awarded to one spouse in the divorce decree and the other 
spouse receives an owelty lien to eventually compensate that spouse for their equitable portion. 
An owelty lien can also be created as a result of a probate proceeding or family settlement 
agreement to resolve ownership of real property in favor of one heir and avoid partition of the 
property. 
 
As the number and dollar amount of these transactions are isolated in the HMDA data, the actual 
number or dollar amount of these mortgage loans over the past five years is unclear. Most of 
these mortgage loans are reflected in the home purchase and refinance numbers. 
 

 
56 Tex. Prop. Code, § 41.001 and Tex. Constit, Art. XVI, Sec. 50(a)(3) 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/PR/htm/PR.41.htm#41.001
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Refinance of Lien – (Section 50(a)(4)) 
Overview 
 
Refinancing means a closed-end mortgage loan or an open-end line of credit in which a new, 
dwelling-secured debt obligation satisfies and replaces an existing, dwelling-secured debt 
obligation by the same borrower.57 
 
Most refinances involve a purchase loan transaction being refinanced into a new mortgage loan. 
Except for some loan terms and closing cost limitations, refinance loans have similar terms, 
restrictions, and limitations as imposed on home purchase loans, as found in Exhibit 1.  
 
One notable refinance transaction involves the refinance of a home equity loan into a rate-term 
refinance. A refinance of a home equity loan may not be secured by a valid lien against the 
homestead unless either: 

(1) the refinance of the debt is a home equity loan or a reverse mortgage (there is a one-
year waiting period from the date of the closing of previous home equity loan before a new 
home equity loan may be made); or 
(2) a rate and term refinance of the home equity loan that satisfies all of the following 
conditions: 

(A) one year from the date of the home equity loan was closed has lapsed; 
(B) the advance of any additional funds includes only: 

(i) funds advanced to refinance a debt described by Subsections (a)(1) 
through (a)(7) of this section (excluding additional cash or cash equivalent 
to the borrower); or 
(ii) actual costs and reserves required by the lender to refinance the debt; 

(C) the refinance of the extension of credit is of a principal amount that when added 
to the aggregate total of the outstanding principal balances of all other 
indebtedness secured by valid encumbrances of record against the homestead 
does not exceed 80 percent of the fair market value of the homestead on the date 
the refinance of the extension of credit is made; and 
(D)  the lender provides the owner a prescribed written notice on a separate 
document not later than the third business day after the date the owner submits 
the loan application to the lender and at least 12 days before the date the refinance 
of the extension of credit is closed.58 

Loans Made Statistics 
 
Exhibit 7 includes the lending activity for refinance transactions over the past five calendar years. 
 

EXHIBIT 7 
Refinance of Lien – Loans Made Statistics per calendar year 

 CY2019 CY2020 CY2021 CY2022 CY2023 
Number 
of Loans  107,018   401,549   353,312   61,371   17,103  

Amount 
of Loans  $28,814,615,000  $106,101,000,000   $90,547,785,000   $16,406,930,000   $5,130,870,000  

 
57 Regulation C, 12 C.F.R. § 1003.2 
58 Tex. Const. Art. XVI, Sec. 50(f) and 7 Texas Administrative Code §153.45 

https://www.fc.texas.gov/sites/default/files/2018-05/home-equity-refinance-disclosure.pdf
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=8&ch=153&rl=45
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Average 
Loan 
Amount 

269250.1729  $264,229.27   $256,282.79   $267,340.11   $299,998.25  

Average 
Closing 
Costs 

 $4,404.21   $4,214.70   $4,213.14   $5,565.55   $7,694.92  

Average 
Interest 
Rate 

3.96% 3.03% 2.76% 3.82% 6.78% 

Source: HMDA Data – CFPB 
 
From CY2022 to CY2023, the number and dollar amount of refinance loans made in Texas 
declined 72.13% and 68.73%, respectively. The decline in refinance transactions was primarily 
attributed to the increasing mortgage interest rates and the fact that borrowers refinanced their 
loans at substantially lower rates in CY2020 and CY2021.  
 

Home Improvement Loan (Section 50(a)(5)) 
Overview 
 
A home improvement loan means a closed-end mortgage loan or an open-end line of credit that 
is for the purpose, in whole or in part, of repairing, rehabilitating, remodeling, or improving a 
dwelling or the real property on which the dwelling is located.59 
 
Exhibit 8 – Home Improvement Loan contains key terms, limitations, and restrictions for home 
purchase loans.  
 

EXHIBIT 8 
HOME IMPROVEMENT LOAN 

Maximum Loan 
Limit for single-
family residential 
property and 
manufactured home 
that qualifies as real 
property 
(CY 2024) 
 
 

FHA loan Title I (single 
family)60 

$25,000 

Title I 
(manufactured 
home 
considered as 
real property) 61 

$25,090 

Conventional 
loan 

None, but Federal Housing Finance Agency 
establishes a maximum conforming loan limit of 
$766,550 in Texas. 

Maximum Interest 
Rate 

18%62 (Texas law; however, some federal programs establish a lower 
rate) 

Required Waiting 
Period for Closing 

Federal: 7 business days,63 unless there is a bona fide personal 
financial emergency 
 

 
59 Regulation C, 12 C.F.R. §1003.2 
60 24 C.F.R § 201.10 and FHA Single Family Housing Policy Handbook 
61 24 C.F.R § 201.10 and FHA Single Family Housing Policy Handbook 
62 Tex. Fin. Code, §§ 303.009, 342.301, and 345.056 
63 Regulation Z, 12 C.F.R. § 1026.19(a)(2) and (e)(1)(iii) 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-12/chapter-X/part-1003/section-1003.2
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-B/part-201#201.10
https://www.hud.gov/sites/dfiles/OCHCO/documents/40001-hsgh-update15-052024.pdf
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-B/part-201#201.10
https://www.hud.gov/sites/dfiles/OCHCO/documents/40001-hsgh-update15-052024.pdf
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.303.htm#303.009
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.342.htm#342.301
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.345.htm#345.056
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-12/chapter-X/part-1026/subpart-C#1026.19
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EXHIBIT 8 
HOME IMPROVEMENT LOAN 

Texas: 5 days after the owner makes a written application for any 
extension of credit for the work and material, unless the work and 
material are necessary to complete immediate repairs to conditions on 
the homestead property that materially affect the health or safety of the 
owner or person residing in the homestead and the owner of the 
homestead acknowledges such in writing 

Charges and Fees Texas – direct 
first-lien loan 
and junior-lien 
with an 
effective rate of 
10% or less 

Reasonable and customary amounts 

Texas – direct 
junior-lien loan 
with an 
effective rate 
greater than 
10% (Tex. Fin. 
Code, Ch. 342, 
Sub. G 
secondary 
mortgage loan) 

For a closed-end secondary mortgage loan, the 
following fees64 are permissible: 
(1) reasonable fees for: 

(A) title examination and preparation of an 
abstract of title by: 

(i) an attorney who is not an employee 
of the lender; or 
(ii) a title company or property search 
company authorized to do business in 
this state; or 

(B) premiums or fees for title insurance or title 
search for the benefit of the mortgagee and, 
at the mortgagor's option, for title insurance 
or title search for the benefit of the 
mortgagor; 

(2) reasonable fees charged to the lender by an 
attorney who is not a salaried employee of the lender 
for preparation of the loan documents in connection 
with the mortgage loan if the fees are evidenced by a 
statement for services rendered; 
(3) charges prescribed by law that are paid to public 
officials for determining the existence of a security 
interest or for perfecting, releasing, or satisfying a 
security interest; 
(4) reasonable fees for an appraisal of real property 
offered as security for the loan prepared by an 
appraiser who is not a salaried employee of the 
lender; 
(5) the reasonable cost of a credit report; 
(6) reasonable fees for a survey of real property 
offered as security for the loan prepared by a 
registered surveyor who is not a salaried employee 
of the lender; 

 
64 Tex. Fin. Code § 342.308 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.342.htm#342.308
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EXHIBIT 8 
HOME IMPROVEMENT LOAN 

(7) the premiums received in connection with the 
sale of credit life insurance, credit accident and 
health insurance, or other insurance that protects the 
mortgagee against default by the mortgagor, the 
benefits of which are applied in whole or in part to 
reduce or extinguish the loan balance; or  
(8) reasonable fees relating to real property offered 
as security for the loan that are incurred to comply 
with a federally mandated program if a federal 
agency requires the collection of the fees or the 
participation in the program; and  
(9) an administrative fee, subject to Subsection (c), 
in an amount not to exceed $25 for a loan of more 
than $1,000 or $20 for a loan of $1,000 or less. 
 

Texas – retail 
installment 
contract 
subject Tex. 
Fin. Code, Ch. 
345  

For a closed-end retail installment contract, the 
following fees65 are permissible: 

• recording fees paid to a public official 
• official fees for a construction permit or the 

filing or recording of a construction permit 
• title insurance or title examination as 

established by the Tex. Dept. of Insurance 
• appraisal fees paid to a non-salaried 

employee of the holder 
• credit report fee 
• document preparation fees paid to a licensed 

Texas attorney; and  
• debt cancellation fee 

FHA loan Title I For Title I property improvement 
loans, there is no upfront 
mortgage insurance premium, but 
there is a mortgage insurance 
premium collected in annual 
installments of 1 percent of the 
original loan amount.  
 
Financeable Fees and Charges (if 
financed, cannot exceed 
maximum loan amount)66 
• an origination fee, not to 

exceed amount allowed for 
points and fees in HUD’s 
regulations at § 203.19(b)(1) 
(Origination expenses for 
document preparation, 

 
65 Tex. Fin. Code, § 345.005 
66 24 C.F.R. §201.25 and FHA Single Family Housing Policy Handbook 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.345.htm#345.005
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-B/part-201#201.25
https://www.hud.gov/sites/dfiles/OCHCO/documents/40001-hsgh-update15-052024.pdf
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HOME IMPROVEMENT LOAN 

copying, processing, 
underwriting, and courier fees 
and similar origination 
expenses are part the 
origination fee and must not 
be charged separately. The 
payment of a third-party 
origination fee is acceptable, 
but the fee must not be 
charged to the borrower.);  

• fees for architectural and 
engineering services;  

• building permits;  
• the credit report;  
• a fee for the services of a 

qualified third-party closing 
agent to act on behalf of a 
lender in closing a direct loan 
transaction;  

• title examination;  
• fees for determining whether 

the Property is in a flood zone;  
• recording fees, recording 

taxes, filing fees, and 
documentary stamp taxes; and  

• a fee for inspection of the 
property by a Lender or its 
agent, not to exceed $250. 

 
Late Fees Texas law First-lien 

subject to 
DIDMCA67  

No limits 

Junior Lien with 
an effective rate 
of 10% or less 

Greater of 5% of the payment 
amount or $7.50 after 10 days 
after the due date68 

Junior-lien with 
an effective rate 
greater than 
10% 

5% of the payment amount after 
10 days after the due date69 

Retail 
installment 
contract subject 
to Chapter 345 
of the Tex. Fin. 

Lesser of 5% of the installment or 
$5 after the installment remains 
unpaid after the 10th day after the 
due date 

 
67 Tex. Fin. Code, § 302.103 
68 Tex. Fin. Code, § 302.001(d) 
69 Tex. Fin. Code, § 342.302 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.302.htm#302.103
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.302.htm#302.001
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.342.htm#342.302
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Code (junior-
lien only) 

FHA loan The late charge shall not exceed the lesser of 5% of 
principal and interest, up to a maximum of $10 per 
installment, or the maximum amount permitted by 
applicable State law after the installment has been 
past due for 15 days after the due date.70 

Maximum Term of 
the Loan 

Texas law None 
FHA loan Title I (single 

family)71 
20 years and 32 days 

Title I 
(manufactured 
home)72 

15 years and 32 days 

Conventional 
loan 

None 

Required State 
Disclosures 

Home Improvement Contract Disclosure73 
Disclosures and Notices required by Ch. 53 of Tex. Prop. Code74  

Balloon Payment 
Permissible 

Texas law Yes, unless prohibited by federal law.75 
FHA loan Title I76 Yes, final payment may 

not exceed 1.5 times the 
regular installment 

Housing Counseling 
Required 

No, except if the loan is a high-cost mortgage loan 

Right of Rescission   Yes77 
Prepayment Penalty 
Allowed 

Texas  First-lien mortgage and 
junior-lien mortgage 
loans with an effective 
rate of 10% or less 

No, if the interest rate 
on a loan for property 
that is or is to be the 
residential 
homestead of the 
borrower is greater 
than 12 percent a 
year, a prepayment 
penalty may not be 
collected on the loan 
unless the penalty is 
required by an 
agency created by 
federal law.78  

 
70 24 C.F.R. § 201.15 and FHA Single Family Housing Policy Handbook 
71 24 C.F.R. §201.11 and FHA Single Family Housing Policy Handbook 
72 24 C.F.R. §201.11 and FHA Single Family Housing Policy Handbook 
73 Tex. Prop. Code, § 41.007 
74 Tex. Prop. Code, Ch. 53 
75 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 83.708 
76 24 C.F.R. § 201.14 
77 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(a)(5)(C) 
78 Tex. Fin. Code, § 302.102 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-B/part-201#201.15
https://www.hud.gov/sites/dfiles/OCHCO/documents/40001-hsgh-update15-052024.pdf
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-B/part-201#201.11
https://www.hud.gov/sites/dfiles/OCHCO/documents/40001-hsgh-update15-052024.pdf
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-B/part-201#201.11
https://www.hud.gov/sites/dfiles/OCHCO/documents/40001-hsgh-update15-052024.pdf
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/PR/htm/PR.41.htm#41.007
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/PR/htm/PR.53.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=5&ch=83&rl=708
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-B/part-201#201.14
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.302.htm#302.102
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(Federal law may 
prohibit the 
prepayment penalty) 

Texas – direct junior-
lien loan with an 
effective rate greater 
than 10% (Tex. Fin. 
Code, Ch. 342, Sub. G 
secondary mortgage 
loan) 

No79 

FHA loan No80 
Negative 
Amortization 

No81 

Location of Closing 
Limitation 

Yes82, a home improvement loan may be closed only at an office of the 
lender, an attorney at law, or a title company. 

Key Restrictions 
and Limitations 

Written contract for the work and material required83 

 

Loans Made Statistics 
 
Exhibit 9 includes the lending activity for home improvement transactions over the past five 
calendar years. 
 

EXHIBIT 9 
Home Improvement Loan – Loans Made Statistics per calendar year 

 CY2019 CY2020 CY2021 CY2022 CY2023 
Number 
of Loans 18,075 16,602 16,586 22,393 17,496 

Amount 
of Loans $1,819,745,000 $1,908,610,000 $2,230,830,000 $3,102,785,000 $2,117,720,000 

Average 
Loan 
Amount 

$100,677.46 $114,962.66 $134,500.78 $138,560.49 $121,040.24 

Average 
Closing 
Costs 

$2,069.24 $1,456.22 $1,670.27 $1,595.59 $1,246.51 

Average 
Interest 
Rate 

5.34% 4.19% 3.78% 5.06% 7.56% 

Source: HMDA Data – CFPB 
 
 

 
79 Tex. Fin. Code, § 345.502 
80 24 C.F.R. § 201.17 
81 Tex. Fin. Code, § 342.002 and 24 C.F.R. § 201.13 
82 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(a)(5)(D) 
83 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(a)(5)(B) 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.342.htm#342.502
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-B/part-201/subpart-B#201.17
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.342.htm#342.002
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-B/part-201/subpart-B#201.13
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
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From CY2022 to CY2023, the number and dollar amount of home improvement loans made in 
Texas decreased by 21.87% and 31.75%, respectively. The decline in home improvement loans 
was attributable to the increasing mortgage interest rates and rising costs for home improvement 
projects (labor and material costs). 
 

Home Equity Loan (Section 50(a)(6)) 
Overview 
 
Home equity loans allow borrowers to use the equity accumulated in their homestead as collateral 
for a loan. The loan amount is determined by the value of the property and may not exceed 
80% of the fair market value of the home. The fair market value of the homestead must be 
determined and agreed to, in writing, by both the borrower and lender. A borrower may set the 
loan up as a revolving line of credit instead of a lump sum payment, known as a home equity line 
of credit (HELOC). 
 
Borrowers may not take out a home equity loan before the first anniversary (minimum of 365 
days) of the closing date of any existing home equity loan that is secured by the same homestead 
property, unless the homestead is located in an area declared by the president or the governor to 
be in a state of disaster.84 Borrowers may only have one home equity loan against an existing 
homestead at any given time.85 Borrowers must wait at least 12 days before closing the home 
equity loan. Under certain conditions, a rate and term-only refinance is allowed, and the loan 
would then lose its status as a home equity loan.86  

Borrowers must own their home and have accumulated enough equity to borrow against it. 
Lenders should not lend based solely on the value of the home. Credit scores and debt-to-
income ratios are also considered to ensure borrowers have enough income to repay the home 
equity loan. 
 

Fees, Limitations, and Restrictions 
 
Exhibit 10 – Home Equity Loan contains key terms, limitations, and restrictions for home equity 
loans and home equity lines of credit.  
 

 
EXHIBIT 10 

HOME EQUITY LOANS and HOME EQUITY LINES OF CREDIT 
 

Maximum Loan Limit87  
 
 
 
 
 
 

The maximum home equity loan amount or advance on 
a home equity line of credit is limited to 80% of the fair 
market value of the homestead on the date of the 
extension of credit is made minus the aggregate total of 
the outstanding principal balances of all other 
indebtedness secured by valid encumbrances of record 
against the homestead.  

 
84 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 153.14 
85 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec 50(a)(6)(K) 
86 Preamble for 7 TAC §153.45 
87 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(a)(6)(B), 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 153.3, and 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 153.86 

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=8&ch=153&rl=14
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=8&ch=153&rl=3
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HOME EQUITY LOANS and HOME EQUITY LINES OF CREDIT 
 

 

Maximum Interest Rate88 18%89  
Required Waiting Period for 
Closing 

12-day waiting period90 
• An equity loan may not be closed before the 12th 

calendar day after the later of the date that the 
owner submits an application for the loan to the 
lender or the date that the lender provides the 
owner a copy of the required consumer 
disclosure. 

• The equity loan may be closed at any time on or 
after the 12th calendar day after the later of the 
date that the owner submits an application for the 
loan to the lender or the date that the lender 
provides the owner a copy of the required 
consumer disclosure. 

 
Maximum Closing Costs91  The maximum closing costs cannot exceed two percent 

of the original principal amount of the extension of credit, 
excluding fees for: 

• an appraisal performed by a third-party appraiser,  
• a property survey performed by a state registered 

or licensed surveyor,  
• a state base premium for a mortgagee policy of 

title insurance with endorsements established in 
accordance with state law, or a title examination 
report if its cost is less than the state base 
premium for a mortgagee policy of title insurance 
without endorsements established in accordance 
with state law, 

• per diem interest; and 
• reasonable and bona fide discount points. 

Late Fees Texas law 
 

First-lien subject 
to DIDMCA   

No limits 

Junior Lien with 
an effective rate 
of 10% or less 

Greater of 5% of 
the payment 
amount or $7.50 

 
88 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(a)(6)(O) and 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 153.16 
89 Tex. Fin. Code, § 303.009 and § 342.301 
90 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(a)(6)(M)(i) and 7 Tex. Admin. Code §153.12 
91 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(a)(6)(E) and 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 153.5 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=8&ch=153&rl=16
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.303.htm#303.009
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.342.htm#342.301
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=8&ch=153&rl=12
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=8&ch=153&rl=5
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after 10 days 
after the due date  

Junior-lien with 
an effective rate 
greater than 10% 

5% of the 
payment amount 
after 10 days 
after the due date  

Maximum Term of the Loan A closed-end home equity loan has no maximum term; 
however, it is usually a 10, 15, or 30-year term.  
 
A home equity line of credit has a draw and repayment 
period. During the draw period, a consumer must only 
pay the accrued interest (principal payments are 
permitted). After the draw period (repayment period), the 
installments must be scheduled to be paid in 
substantially equal amounts.92 

Required State Disclosures Consumer Disclosure (Home Equity Disclosure)93 
Balloon Payment Permissible No94 
Housing Counseling Required No, except if the loan is a high-cost mortgage loan. 
Right of Rescission   Yes95  
Prepayment Penalty96 Allowed No97 
Negative Amortization No98 
Location of Closing Limitation Yes99, an equity loan may be closed only at an office of 

the lender, an attorney at law, or a title company. 
Key Restrictions and Limitations There are several other important restrictions and 

limitations on home equity loans and home equity lines 
of credit, including: 
 

• Required voluntary consent of each owner and 
each owner’s spouse100 

• Nonrecourse of the deficiency balance after the 
foreclosure sale101 

• No additional real or personal property as 
collateral other than the homestead property102 

• Number of equity loans limited to one at a time103  

 
92 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(t)(8) and 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 153.88 
93 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(g) and 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 153.51 
94 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(a)(6)(L)(i) and 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 153.11 
95 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(a)(6)(Q)(viii) and 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 153.25 
96 Tex. Fin. Code, § 301.002(a)(15) defines a “prepayment penalty” as “consideration agreed on and contracted for a discharge of a 
loan, other than a loan governed by Chapter 306, before its maturity or a regularly scheduled date of payment, as a result of an 
obligor's election to pay all of the principal amount before its stated maturity or a regularly scheduled date of payment.” 
97 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(a)(6)(G) and 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 153.7 
98 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(t)(8) and 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 153.88 
99 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(a)(6)(N) and 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 153.15 
100 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(a)(6)(A) and 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 153.2 
101 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(a)(6)(C) and 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 153.4 
102 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(a)(6)(H) and 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 153.8 
103 Tex. Const., Article XVI, Sec. 50(a)(6)(K) and 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 153.10 

https://www.fc.texas.gov/sites/default/files/2018-05/home-equity-consumer-disclosure-rev-2017.pdf
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=8&ch=153&rl=88
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=8&ch=153&rl=51
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=8&ch=153&rl=11
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=8&ch=153&rl=25
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.301.htm#301.002
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=FI&Value=306
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=8&ch=153&rl=7
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=8&ch=153&rl=88
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=8&ch=153&rl=15
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=8&ch=153&rl=2
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=8&ch=153&rl=4
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=8&ch=153&rl=8
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=8&ch=153&rl=10
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HOME EQUITY LOANS and HOME EQUITY LINES OF CREDIT 
 

• One-year prohibition104 
• $4,000 Minimum Draw on HELOC105 
• No credit card, debit card, or preprinted check 

permitted to obtain a draw106 
• No cash advance fees are permitted107 

 

Loans Made Statistics 

Exhibit 11 includes the lending activity for cash-out refinances over the past five calendar 
years. 

EXHIBIT 11 
Home Equity Loan – Loans Made Statistics per calendar year 

(Cash Out Refinancing) 
 CY2019 CY2020 CY2021 CY2022 CY2023 
Number 
of Loans  69,392   98,117   144,626   96,111   39,038  

Amount 
of Loans  $13,883,080,000  $23,161,715,000  $36,934,095,000  $24,003,515,000  $7,681,850,000  

Average 
Loan 
Amount 

 $200,067.44   $236,062.20   $255,376.59   $249,747.84   $196,778.78  

Average 
Closing 
Costs 

 $4,711.24   $5,032.93   $5,170.06   $6,386.53   $5,782.27  

Average 
Interest 
Rate 

4.65% 3.51% 3.18% 4.71% 7.37% 

Source: HMDA Data – CFPB 
 
From CY2022 to CY2023, the number and dollar amount of cash-out refinances made in Texas 
decreased by 59.38% and 68%, respectively. Home equity loans declined primarily due to 
increasing mortgage interest rates. 
 
Exhibit 12 reflects the number and dollar amount of home equity lines of credit made by SML 
licensees and registrants over the past five years. 
 

EXHIBIT 12 
HOME EQUITY LINES OF CREDIT MADE BY SML LICENSEES/REGISTRANTS 

 CY2019 CY2020 CY2021 CY2022 CY2023 
Number of 
Loans 223 101 97 745 503 

 
104 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(a)(6)(M)(iii) and 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 153.14 
105 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(t)(2) 
106 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(t)(3) and 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 153.84 
107 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(t)(5) 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=8&ch=153&rl=14
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=7&pt=8&ch=153&rl=84
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
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Amount of 
Loans $35,086,759 $17,146,818 $20,056,889 $167,442,380 $110,413,346 

 

Reverse Mortgage Loan (Section50(a)(7)) 
Overview 
 
A reverse mortgage is a closed-end mortgage loan or an open-end line of credit that is a reverse 
mortgage transaction as defined in Regulation Z, 12 CFR § 1026.33(a), but without regard to 
whether the security interest is created in a principal dwelling.108 
 
A reverse mortgage transaction109 is a nonrecourse consumer credit obligation in which: 
 

(1) A mortgage, deed of trust, or equivalent consensual security interest securing 
one or more advances is created in the consumer's principal dwelling; and 
(2) Any principal, interest, or shared appreciation or equity is due and payable 
(other than in the case of default) only after: 

(i) The consumer dies; 
(ii) The dwelling is transferred; or 
(iii) The consumer ceases to occupy the dwelling as a principal dwelling. 

 
Article XVI, Section 50(k) of the Texas Constitution sets forth a very extensive definition and 
includes additional limitations and restrictions discussed in Exhibit 13 below. 
 
In Texas, a reverse mortgage may be used to purchase a home, obtain a lump sum, or create a 
regular monthly income stream for a specified period.  
 
A reverse mortgage can be a closed-end or line of credit transaction.  
 
The amount of money (“principal limit”) received by the borrower in a lump sum or line of credit 
for a reverse mortgage depends on three major factors: 
 

• the age of the youngest borrower; 
• the interest rate of the loan; and 
• the value of the home.  

 
In general, reverse mortgages with older borrowers, higher-priced homes, and lower interest rates 
will have higher principal limits than loans with younger borrowers, lower-priced homes, and 
higher interest rates. 
 
There are two types of reverse mortgages - (1) a Home Equity Conversion Mortgage (HECM) that 
is governmental-insured by FHA; and (2) a proprietary reverse mortgage. The HECM product is 
the predominant reverse mortgage product. Proprietary reverse mortgages are not insured by the 
federal government and are typically designed for borrowers with higher home values than those 
insured by FHA. 
 
 

 
108 Regulation C, 12 C.F.R. §1003.2(q) 
109 Regulation Z, 12 C.F.R. § 1026.33(a) 

https://www.consumerfinance.gov/rules-policy/regulations/1003/2/#o
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Under the FHA-insured HECM product, the youngest borrower must be 62 years of age or older 
at the time of loan closing;110 however, for the proprietary reverse mortgage, only one of the 
borrowers (owner or owner’s spouse) must be 62 years or older.  
 
Besides the age requirement, FHA requires: 
 
 the home must be the principal residence where the borrowers live the majority of the 

year; 
 the borrower(s) must own the home outright or have a low mortgage balance (the 

proceeds of the reverse mortgage may be used to purchase the home); 
 the borrower(s) must not owe any delinquent federal debt, such as federal income taxes 

or federal student loans; however, the proceeds of the reverse mortgage may be used to 
pay off these debts; 

 the borrower must have enough money or agree to set aside part of the reverse mortgage 
funds at loan closing sufficient to pay ongoing property charges, including taxes and 
insurance, as well as maintenance and repair costs; 

 the home must be habitable and not in need of substantial repairs or capital improvements; 
and 

 the borrower(s) must receive counseling from a HUD-approved reverse mortgage 
counseling agency to discuss the borrower’s eligibility, the financial implications of the 
loan, and other alternatives. 

 

Fees, Limitations, and Restrictions 
 
Exhibit 13 – Reverse Mortgage Loan contains key terms, limitations, and restrictions for reverse 
mortgages.  
 

EXHIBIT 13 
REVERSE MORTGAGE LOANS 

 
Maximum Loan Limit 
(CY 2024) 
 
 
 
 

FHA Home Equity Conversion Mortgage 
(HECM) 

$1,149,825111 

Proprietary Reverse Mortgage As with a HECM, the 
maximum loan amount will 
be affected by: (1) the age 
of the youngest borrower 
or eligible non-borrowing 
spouse borrowers (62 or 
older); (2) the dollar 
amount of equity in the 
homestead property; (3) 
the average mortgage 
interest rate; and (4) the 
home’s appraised value. 

 
110 24 C.F.R. § 206.33 
111 FHA Mortgage Limits | HUD.gov / U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-B/part-206#206.33
https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/housing/sfh/lender/origination/mortgage_limits
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EXHIBIT 13 
REVERSE MORTGAGE LOANS 

 
Maximum Interest 
Rate 

18%112  

Required Waiting 
Period for Closing 

12-day waiting period113 
• A reverse mortgage may not be closed before the 12th day 

after the date the lender provides the prospective borrower the 
required consumer disclosure. 

• The consumer disclosure must be on a separate document. 
 

Maximum Closing 
Costs 

FHA Home Equity Conversion Mortgage 
(HECM) 

HECM One-Time 
Mortgage Insurance 
Premium 
In addition to the upfront 
mortgage insurance 
premium of 2% of the 
property value or 
maximum claim amount 
whichever is less114, the 
lender or mortgagee may 
collect additional cost at 
closing.  
 
Fees at closing115. The 
mortgagee may collect, 
either in cash at the time of 
closing or through an initial 
payment under the 
mortgage, the following 
charges and fees incurred 
in connection with the 
origination, processing, 
and closing of the reverse 
mortgage loan: 
(1) Loan Origination Fee. 
The loan origination fee is 
paid to compensate the 
lender for making or 
processing the HECM 
loan. The maximum 
origination fee that a 
lender can charge to the 
consumer is the greater of 
$2,500 or 2% of the 
maximum claim amount 

 
112 Tex. Fin. Code, § 303.009, § 342.301, and § 346.101 
113 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(k)(9) 
114 24 C.F.R. §206.105 
115 24 C.F.R. §206.31 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.303.htm#303.009
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.342.htm#342.301
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.346.htm#346.101
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-B/part-206#p-206.105(a)
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-B/part-206#206.31
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EXHIBIT 13 
REVERSE MORTGAGE LOANS 

 
(the home’s value) plus 1% 
of the amount over 
$200,000. The HECM 
origination fees are capped 
at $6,000 (may be 
adjusted for changes in the 
CPI index). The loan 
origination fee may be fully 
financed with the 
mortgage. 
(2) Reasonable and 
customary amounts. 
Reasonable and 
customary amounts, but 
not more than the amount 
actually paid by the 
mortgagee, for any of the 
following items: 
(i) Recording fees and 
recording taxes, or other 
charges incident to the 
recordation of the insured 
mortgage; 
(ii) Credit report; 
(iii) Survey, if required by 
the mortgagee or the 
borrower; 
(iv) Title examination; 
(v) Mortgagee's title 
insurance; 
(vi) Fees paid to an 
appraiser for the initial 
appraisal of the property; 
(vii) Flood certifications; 
and 
(viii) Such other charges 
as may be authorized by 
the Commissioner. 
(b) Repair administration 
fee. If the property requires 
repairs after closing in 
order to meet FHA 
requirements, the 
mortgagee may collect a 
fee for each occurrence as 
compensation for 
administrative duties 
relating to repair work 



Page | 36 
 

EXHIBIT 13 
REVERSE MORTGAGE LOANS 

 
pursuant to § 206.47(c) 
and (d), not to exceed the 
greater of one and one-half 
percent of the amount 
advanced for the repairs or 
fifty dollars. The mortgagee 
shall collect the repair fee 
by adding it to the 
outstanding loan balance. 
 

Proprietary Reverse Mortgage Reasonable and 
customary fees 

Late Fees None (no payments are due on a reverse mortgage) 

Required Repayment 
Date 

On a reverse mortgage, the repayment of the principal or interest is 
not required until one of the following events occurs:116 
 

• all borrowers have died; 
• the homestead property securing the loan is sold or otherwise 

transferred; 
• all borrowers cease occupying the homestead property for a 

period of longer than 12 consecutive months without prior 
written approval from the lender; 

• if the extension of credit is used for the purchase of 
homestead property, the borrower fails to timely occupy the 
homestead property as the borrower's principal residence 
within a specified period after the date the extension of credit 
is made that is stipulated in the written agreement creating the 
lien on the property; or 

• the borrower: 
o defaults on an obligation specified in the loan documents 

to repair and maintain, pay taxes and assessments on, or 
insure the homestead property; 

o commits actual fraud in connection with the loan; or 
o fails to maintain the priority of the lender's lien on the 

homestead property, after the lender gives notice to the 
borrower, by promptly discharging any lien that has priority 
or may obtain priority over the lender's lien within 10 days 
after the date the borrower receives the notice, unless the 
borrower: 

 

 
116 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(k)(6) 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/section-206.47#p-206.47(c)
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/section-206.47#p-206.47(d)
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
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EXHIBIT 13 
REVERSE MORTGAGE LOANS 

 
1. agrees in writing to the payment of the 

obligation secured by the lien in a manner 
acceptable to the lender; 

2. contests in good faith the lien by, or defends 
against enforcement of the lien in, legal 
proceedings so as to prevent the enforcement 
of the lien or forfeiture of any part of the 
homestead property; or 

3. secures from the holder of the lien an 
agreement satisfactory to the lender 
subordinating the lien to all amounts secured 
by the lender's lien on the homestead property. 

Required State 
Disclosures 

Consumer Disclosure (Reverse Mortgage Disclosure)117 

Housing Counseling 
Required 

Yes,118 a prospective borrower and the spouse of the prospective 
borrower must attest in writing that both of them received counseling 
regarding the advisability and availability of reverse mortgages and 
other financial alternatives within 180th day but not any sooner than 
the 5th day before the date the extension of credit is closed. 

Right of Rescission   
(3-day right of 
rescission) 

Yes,119 except for reverse mortgage transactions made to purchase 
the home.  

Prepayment 
Penalty120 Allowed 

No121 

Negative 
Amortization 

Yes122 

Monthly Mortgage 
Insurance Premium 

Monthly Mortgage Insurance 
Premium on HECMs123 
 

Over the life of the reverse 
mortgage, the consumer will be 
charged a monthly mortgage 
insurance premium equal to 0.5% 
of the outstanding mortgage 
balance, calculated annually. 

Proprietary Reverse Mortgage Usually, there is no mortgage 
insurance premium on proprietary 
reverse mortgages. 

Servicing Fees124 Monthly servicing fees on HECMs 

 
117 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(k)(9) 
118 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(k)(8) 
119 Regulation Z, 12 C.F.R. § 1026.15 and § 1026.23 
120 Tex. Fin. Code, § 301.002(a)(15) defines a “prepayment penalty” as “consideration agreed on and contracted for a discharge of a 
loan, other than a loan governed by Chapter 306, before its maturity or a regularly scheduled date of payment, as a result of an 
obligor's election to pay all of the principal amount before its stated maturity or a regularly scheduled date of payment.” 
121 24 C.F.R. §206.209 
122 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(m) and (n)(6) 
123 24 C.F.R. §206.105(b) and How the HECM Program Works | HUD.gov / U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development 
(HUD) 
124 24 C.F.R. §206.207 and How the HECM Program Works | HUD.gov / U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development 
(HUD) 

https://www.fc.texas.gov/sites/default/files/2018-05/home-equity-consumer-disclosure-rev-2017.pdf
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.301.htm#301.002
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/GetStatute.aspx?Code=FI&Value=306
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-B/part-206/subpart-D/section-206.209
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-B/part-206#p-206.105(b)
https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/housing/sfh/hecm/hecmabou
https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/housing/sfh/hecm/hecmabou
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-24/subtitle-B/chapter-II/subchapter-B/part-206/subpart-D/section-206.207
https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/housing/sfh/hecm/hecmabou
https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/housing/sfh/hecm/hecmabou
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EXHIBIT 13 
REVERSE MORTGAGE LOANS 

 
• $30.00 or less for a reverse mortgage that has a fixed rate or a 

rate that adjusts annually 
• $35.00 or less for a reverse mortgage where the rate adjusts 

monthly  
• At loan closing, the lender sets aside the servicing fee and 

deducts the fee from the consumer’s available funds.  
• Each month the monthly servicing fee is added to consumer’s 

loan balance.  
• Lenders may also include the servicing fee in the mortgage 

interest rate. 
 
Other Servicing Fees 
 
The lender or servicer may assess, charge, and collect other servicing 
fees in connection with the reverse mortgage. 

Key Restrictions and 
Limitations 

There are several other important restrictions and limitations on home 
equity loans and home equity lines of credit, including: 
 

• Age limitation – 62 or older125 
• Required voluntary consent of each owner and each owner’s 

spouse126 
• Nonrecourse of the deficiency balance after the foreclosure 

sale127 
• Judicial foreclosure and other foreclosure protections128 

 

Loans Made Statistics 
Exhibit 14 includes the lending activity for reverse mortgage over the past five calendar years. 
 

EXHIBIT 14 
Reverse Mortgage – Loans Made Statistics per calendar year 

 
 CY2019 CY2020 CY2021 CY2022 CY2023 
Number 
of Loans  2,200   2,624   3,133   3,807   2,060  

Amount 
of Loans  $261,770,000   $362,275,000   $530,685,000   $707,185,000   $339,260,000  

Average 
Loan 
Amount 

 $118,824.33   $138,062.12   $169,385.57   $185,759.13   $164,689.32  

Average 
Interest 
Rate 

4.59% 3.36% 2.56% 5.01% 7.62% 

 
125 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(k)(2) 
126 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(k)(1) 
127 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(k)(3) 
128 Tex. Const., Art. XVI, Sec. 50(k)(10) and (11) 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CN/htm/CN.16/CN.16.50.htm


Page | 39 
 

Source: HMDA Data – CFPB 
 
From CY2022 to CY2023, the number and dollar amount of reverse mortgages made in Texas 
declined by 45.89% and 52.03%, respectively. The rapid increase in mortgage interest rates led 
to a precipitous decline in reverse mortgages, as the interest rate increase reduced the amount 
of money available to the borrowers.  

Conversion and Refinance of a Personal Property Lien Secured by a 
Manufactured Home to a Lien on Real Property – (Section 50(a)(8)) 
Overview 
 
A “manufactured home” means a HUD-code manufactured home or a mobile home.129  
 
A "HUD-code manufactured home": 

(A) means a structure: 
(i) constructed on or after June 15, 1976, according to the rules of the 
United States Department of Housing and Urban Development; 
(ii) built on a permanent chassis; 
(iii) designed for use as a dwelling with or without a permanent foundation 
when the structure is connected to the required utilities; 
(iv) transported in one or more sections; and 
(v) in the traveling mode, at least eight body feet in width or at least 40 body 
feet in length or, when erected on site, at least 320 square feet; 

(B) includes the plumbing, heating, air conditioning, and electrical systems of the 
home; and 
(C) does not include a recreational vehicle as defined by 24 C.F.R. Section 
3282.8(g). 

 
A mobile home: 

(A) means a structure: 
(i) constructed before June 15, 1976; 
(ii) built on a permanent chassis; 
(iii) designed for use as a dwelling with or without a permanent foundation 
when the structure is connected to the required utilities; 
(iv) transported in one or more sections; and 
(v) in the traveling mode, at least eight body feet in width or at least 40 body 
feet in length or, when erected on site, at least 320 square feet; and 

(B) includes the plumbing, heating, air conditioning, and electrical systems of the 
home. 

 
In Texas, a HUD-code manufactured home (manufactured home) may be purchased and 
financed as personal property (chattel) or real property. 
 
In completing an application for the issuance of a statement of ownership (titling document), an 
owner of a manufactured home must indicate whether the owner elects to treat the home as real 
property. An owner may elect to treat a manufactured home as real property only if the home is 

 
129 Tex. Occ. Code, § 1201.003(18) 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/OC/htm/OC.1201.htm#1201.003
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attached to: (1) real property that is owned by the owner of the home; or (2) land leased to the 
owner of the home under a long-term lease.130 
 
If a consumer finances the purchase of a manufactured home as personal property (chattel), the 
credit transaction is subject to terms, restrictions, and limitations imposed by Chapter 347 of the 
Texas Finance Code.131 Chapter 347 of the Texas Finance Code requires the creditor to register 
or be licensed as a regulated lender with the Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner.  
 
Exhibit 15 includes the lending activity for manufactured home loans and retail installment 
contracts made by OCCC regulated lenders over the past five calendar years. 

 
EXHIBIT 15 

Manufactured Home Loans and Retail Installment Contracts 
Loans Made Statistics per calendar year 

 
 CY2019 CY2020 CY2021 CY2022 CY2023 
Number 
of Loans 9,121 9,031 9,046 3,145 4,818 

Amount 
of Loans $ 635,765,776 $ 691,442,649 $ 799,399,398 $ 346,378,876 $ 505,412,306 
Source: OCCC Financial Services Activity Reports 
 
The number and dollar amount of loans reflected above do not include transactions made by 
depository institutions or registered manufactured housing dealers.  
 
After entering into a manufactured home credit transaction secured by personal property, the 
borrower may elect to purchase real property or refinance the loan involving real property and pay 
off the chattel loan or retail installment contract with the proceeds of the purchase or refinance 
loan. This type of loan is covered by this section.  
 
The exact number and dollar amount of these types of loans are unknown, but they are reflected 
in the home purchase loan or refinance numbers shown in Exhibits 3 and 7.  

Factors Affecting Residential Mortgage Loans 
Direct and indirect factors influence the availability, quality, and pricing of residential mortgage 
loans.  
 
Direct Factors 
 
For home purchase loans and refinances, the direct factors include home prices, required down 
payments, interest rates, property taxes and insurance costs. 
 
Home Prices 
 
The Texas Real Estate Research Center, in conjunction with the Texas Realtors Data Relevance 
Project, maintains extensive market data on the Texas real estate market, including information 
on price appreciation, median home price, months of inventory, sales volume, etc.  

 
130 Tex. Occ. Code, § 1201.2055 
131 Tex. Fin. Code, Cp. 347  

https://occc.texas.gov/
https://trerc.tamu.edu/
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/OC/htm/OC.1201.htm#1201.2055
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FI/htm/FI.347.htm
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One of the key housing market data is the Texas Real Estate Research Center’s Texas Home 
Price Index, which measures price appreciation changes for residential single-family homes. Each 
market index begins at a value of 100 at the base period. The base period is the benchmark 
period by which all future periods are compared. Base periods vary for each market based on 
data availability. The four charts below reflect the Home Price Index for major metropolitan areas 
in Texas. 

The charts reflect an upward trend of home prices in Texas's four most significant metropolitan 
areas; however, the median price of homes recently stabilized in the CY2023, as shown in Exhibit 
16 below. 
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Exhibit 16 
Median Price Home  
2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 

Texas  $ 240,000   $ 259,230   $ 300,000   $ 340,000   $ 335,100  
Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos 
MSA  $ 315,000   $ 344,000   $ 450,000   $ 502,000   $ 450,000  

Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington MSA  $ 273,000   $ 291,000   $ 345,000   $ 400,000   $ 395,000  
El Paso MSA  $ 162,450   $ 177,950   $ 200,000   $ 237,000   $ 254,950  
Houston-The Woodlands-Sugar 
Land MSA  $ 245,000   $ 260,000   $ 300,000   $ 335,000   $ 330,000  

San Antonio-New Braunfels MSA  $ 230,000   $ 249,000   $ 284,995   $ 320,000   $ 312,000  
 
Home prices impact the overall cost to purchase and finance a home. As home prices increase, 
the required down payment and monthly payment increase. To have a stable housing market, the 
real median income of U.S. consumers must keep pace with the price appreciation of the homes. 
Real median household income is the median income for households in a given area adjusted for 
inflation. Exhibit 17 shows the real median U.S. Household Income over the past five years. 
 

2019 2020 2021 2022 2023
Real Median Wage $81,210.00 $79,560.00 $79,260.00 $77,540.00 $80,610.00
YoY % change 7.15% -2.03% -0.38% -2.17% 3.96%
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EXHIBIT 17
Real Median U.S. Household Income 

C-CPI-U Dollars - Annual, Not Seasonally Adjusted

Real Median Wage YoY % change
 

Source: U.S. Census Bureau and Federal Reserve Bank of Saint Louis 
 
Except for the CY2019 and CY2023, the real median household income did not keep pace with 
the home price increases in Texas. This decrease in real median household income, along with 
an increase in home prices, will have a negative impact on homeownership affordability. 
 
Mortgage Interest Rates 
 
Besides the price of the home, the greatest driver of the cost of obtaining a mortgage loan is the 
note or interest rate.  
 
As shown in Exhibit 18 below, the 15-year and 30-year mortgage industry rates substantially 
increased from CY2022 to CY2024.  
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Source: FreddieMae Primary Mortgage Market Survey 
 
For example, using the median price of a home ($335,100.00 – 2023 value) with a 20% 
downpayment financed over a 30-year term, the principal and interest portion of the payment 
increased by $395.53 compared to the average rate of 4.45% (as of January 17, 2019) and the 
current rate of 6.79% (as of November 7, 2024). This change reflects a 29.29% increase in the 
monthly payment. 
 
Although the 15-year and 30-year mortgage interest rates dipped slightly when the Federal 
Reserve Bank lowered the federal funds rate, the 15-year and 30-year mortgage interest rate 
rebounded. Exhibit 19 below shows the federal funds rate over the past five years. 
 

 
Source: Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System – H15 
 
The 30-year mortgage rate is more closely associated with the 10-year Treasury note. See Exhibit 
20 for the comparison between the 30-year fixed rate mortgage to the 10-year U.S. Treasury 
Securities.  
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EXHIBIT 18
Mortgage Interest Rates
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Exhibit 20 

 
 
The persistent nature of the 15-year and 30-year mortgage rates is linked to deficit spreading, a 
possible increase in economic growth, and continued inflation above the Federal Reserve Bank’s 
two percent target. 
 
As Exhibits 3, 7, 9, 11, and 14 demonstrate, higher interest rates reduce the number and dollar 
amount of home purchase loans, refinances, home improvement loans, cash-out refinances 
(home equity loans), and reverse mortgage loans in Texas. 
 
Property Taxes 
 
The third component of a mortgage payment is property taxes.  
 
Texas has the seventh-highest property tax burden in the United States. An analysis of 2022 tax 
payment data concluded that the median taxes on a median-priced Texas home produced an 
effective tax rate of 1.47%. (Tax Foundation, 2024).132 High tax rates on property and increasing 
property values generally raise the cost of home ownership through increasing taxes.  
 
 
 

 
132 Property Taxes by State & County: Median Property Tax Bills 

https://taxfoundation.org/data/all/state/property-taxes-by-state-county-2024/#:%7E:text=rank%20if%20included.-,Source%3A%20US%20Census%20Bureau%2C%202022%20American,Community%20Survey%3B%20Tax%20Foundation%20calculations.&text=In%20calendar%20year%202022%20(the,and%20Connecticut%20(1.78%20percent).
https://fred.stlouisfed.org/graph/?g=1BMzf
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Increased property values represent unrealized gains to Texans maintaining residency. Texas 
property values have seen a dramatic increase over the last 10 years (Texas Real Estate 
Research Center - Texas A&M University, 2024), 
largely outpacing both real and nominal wages. 
(US. Census Bureau, 2024). 
 
Homestead exemptions are an important tool in 
mitigating the rise in taxes as they limit assessed 
value increases from year to year and exempt a 
portion of the property’s taxable value. Texas 
voters have amended the Texas Constitution four 
times in the last 26 years to increase the homestead exemption. Important public policy decisions 
affecting taxes on homesteads, property owners on fixed incomes (aged 65 and older, disabled, 
surviving spouses), and payment options at the tax office all impact the amount of taxes owed 
and the demand for property tax loans. 
 
In 2023, with the passage and approval of Senate Bill 2, the Texas Legislature made the following 
adjustments to property taxes for residential homesteads:  

• increased the residence homestead exemption for school districts from $40,000 to 
$100,000; 

• compressed school district tax rates by an additional $0.107 for the 2023-2024 tax year; 
and  

• adjusted the tax limitation (commonly called a tax ceiling or tax freeze) for an individual 
who is aged 65 or older or disabled related to the increase in the residence homestead 
from $25,000 to $40,000 and from $40,000 to $100,000, as well as made ongoing 
adjustments based on any future increase in the residence homestead exemption. 

 
For 2023-2024 tax years, the changes helped to reduce the tax burden on homeowners of 
homesteads. 
 
Insurance Premiums 
 
The final component of a mortgage payment is insurance premiums --- (1) mortgage insurance 
premiums; (2) homeowner’s insurance; and (3) flood insurance. 
 
FHA Mortgage Insurance Premium Reduction 
 
On March 20, 2023, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) reduced the 
annual mortgage insurance premium (MIP) for FHA-insured loans by approximately 35%.133 
Exhibit 21 includes the information regarding the FHA Annual MIP reduction. 
 
 

 
EXHIBIT 21 

FHA Annual Mortgage Insurance Premium Reduction 
 

Applies to all Mortgages except:  
• Streamline Refinance and Simple Refinance Mortgages used to refinance a previous FHA endorsed 
Mortgage on or before May 31, 2009  
• Hawaiian Home Lands (Section 247) 

 
133 FHA Mortgagee Letter 2023-05 

Year Homestead 
   

< 1997 $5,000 
1997 $15,000 
2015 $25,000 
2022 $40,000 
2023 $100,000 

https://www.hud.gov/sites/dfiles/OCHCO/documents/2023-05hsgml.pdf
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Mortgage Term of More Than 15 Years 
Base Loan Amount Loan-to-Value Duration 2022 MIP 

(bps) 
2023 MIP 

(bps) 
Less than or equal to $625,500 
(2022) and $726,200 (2023) 

≤ 90.00% 11 years 80 50 
> 90.00% but ≤ 95.00% Mortgage Term 80 50 
> 95.00% Mortgage Term 85 55 

Greater than $625,500 (2022) 
and $726,200 

≤ 90.00% 11 years 100 70 
> 90.00% but ≤ 95.00% Mortgage Term 100 70 
> 95.00% Mortgage Term 105 75 

Mortgage Term of Less or Equal to 15 Years 
Base Loan Amount Loan-to-Value Duration 2022 MIP 

(bps) 
2023 MIP 

(bps) 
Less than or equal to $625,500 
(2022) and $726,200 (2023) 

≤ 90.00% 11 years 45 15 
> 90.00%  Mortgage Term 70 40 

Greater than $625,500 (2022) 
and $726,200 

≤ 78.00% 11 years 45 15 
> 78.00% but ≤ 90.00% 11 years 70 40 
> 90.00% Mortgage Term 95 65 

 
According to HUD, the premium reduction has helped more than 682,000 borrowers save an 
average of $876 annually, saving them nearly $600 million collectively in just the first year of their 
mortgages. (U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, 2024)134 The FHA Annual MIP 
reduction reduced the cost of homeownership nationally and in Texas for those borrowers with an 
FHA-insured home purchase loan or refinance. 
 
Homeowners’ Insurance Premiums 
 
Homeowners’ insurance is one of the fastest-growing costs affecting homeownership in Texas. 
Over the past five years, homeowners’ insurance premiums have increased from 3.8% to 21.2% 
per year (see Exhibit 22 below). 
 

 
Source: Texas Department of Insurance rate filing data 
 
Homeowners insurance rates in Texas have been increasing due to several factors (Rice 
University - Kinder Institute for Urban Research, 2024)135, including 
 

 
134 One Year In: U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Annual Mortgage Insurance Premium Cut Saves Borrowers 
$600 Million | HUD.gov / U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) 
135 Houston’s rising homeowner insurance rates aren’t helping a widening affordability gap | Kinder Institute for Urban Research | 
Rice University 
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EXHIBIT 22
Homeowners average rate change (Texas)

https://www.hud.gov/press/press_releases_media_advisories/hud_no_24_058
https://www.hud.gov/press/press_releases_media_advisories/hud_no_24_058
https://kinder.rice.edu/urbanedge/houstons-insurance-rates-widen-affordability-gap#:%7E:text=Last%20week%2C%20Progressive%20Insurance%20said,the%20value%20of%20the%20home.
https://kinder.rice.edu/urbanedge/houstons-insurance-rates-widen-affordability-gap#:%7E:text=Last%20week%2C%20Progressive%20Insurance%20said,the%20value%20of%20the%20home.
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 severe weather; 
 rising construction costs; and 
 insurance companies exiting the market to limit their exposure to high-risk states. 

 
The homeowners' insurance premiums affect Texans' ability to purchase and maintain ownership 
of their homestead properties. 
 
Flood Insurance 
 
Flood insurance is a type of property insurance that reimburses the policyholder from losses and 
damages caused by the peril of flooding. 
 
The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) is managed by the Federal Emergency 
Management Agency (FEMA) and is delivered to the public by a network of more than 50 
insurance companies and the NFIP Direct. Homes and businesses in high-risk flood areas with 
mortgages from government-backed lenders are required to have flood insurance.136 
 
As of April 1, 2023, FEMA has fully implemented the National Flood Insurance Program's (NFIP) 
pricing approach, Risk Rating 2.0. According to Office of Public Insurance Council, the average 
annual cost of a flood insurance policy is $700.00.137 Because of the recent hurricanes, the E&E 
News reports that: “[i]n Texas, the average cost of a policy is slated to increase to $1,400 from 
$775 by the time the new rates are fully in effect in several years, FEMA records show.” (E&E 
News by Politico, 2024)138 
 
For those borrowers who live in a flood plain, the cost of flood insurance will impact the cost of 
homeownership in Texas.  
 
Indirect Factors  
 
The indirect factors affecting residential mortgage loans are the amount of equity in the 
homestead property, housing supply, and population growth.  
 
Amount of Equity in the Homestead Property 
 
For refinance transactions, home equity loans, and reverse mortgages, the amount of equity the 
borrower has in the homestead property impacts the interest rates, mortgage insurance 
premiums, and the funds available (the principal amount of the loan).  
 
Exhibit 23 reflects the value of owner’s equity (amount of equity) in homes in the United States 
over the past five years.  
 

 
136 42 U.S.C. § 4012a(b)(1) 
137 Flood Insurance - The Basics - Office of Public Insurance Counsel (OPIC) 
138 Texas double disaster: Beryl's deluge and receding flood insurance - E&E News by POLITICO 

https://www.fema.gov/flood-insurance
https://www.opic.texas.gov/flood-insurance/basics/#:%7E:text=If%20you%20live%20in%20a,like%20weather%20and%20new%20construction.
https://www.eenews.net/articles/texas-double-disaster-beryls-deluge-and-receding-flood-insurance/#:%7E:text=In%20Texas%2C%20the%20average%20cost,from%20510%2C000%20in%20late%202021.
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EXHIBIT 23
U.S. Homes - Value of Owner's Equity

 
Source: Federal Reserve Bank of Saint Louis OEHRENWBSHNO 

From 2019 to 2024, the value of owner’s equity increased from less than $19 trillion to $35 trillion. 
Again, this increase permits greater principal balances for home equity loans and reverse 
mortgages.  
 
Housing Supply 
 
The number of homes available for purchase (a.k.a. housing supply) is governed by several 
factors, including new construction (building permits), existing inventory, government policies 
(zoning regulations and limitation requirements), land availability, natural disasters, and 
construction challenges (labor and resources). 
 
The chart below reflects the number of building permits issued in Texas for the past five calendar 
years.  
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EXHIBIT 24
Number of Texas Building Permits

 
Source: U.S. Census Bureau Building Permits Survey and Texas A&M Real Estate Center 

https://www.census.gov/construction/bps/index.html


Page | 49 
 

 
For the past five years, the number of building permits issued in Texas has been slightly 
increasing. However, as of 2023, Texas was 306,000 homes short of what was needed, according 
to an analysis by Up for Growth, a nonprofit organization that focuses on housing policy. The NAR 
analysis, meanwhile, shows that the greatest shortage is in homes that middle-income buyers 
can afford. (Up For Growth, 2-24) 
 
Exhibits 25 and 26 reflect the number of active real estate listings and months of inventory for 
homes in Texas for the past five years.  
 

 
Source: Texas Realtors Year In Review publication   Source: Texas Realtors Year In Review publication 
 
 
Exhibits 25 and 26 reflect that the marketplace of existing homes is increasing, which will have a 
beneficial impact on homeownership so long as the median prices of homes do not outstrip 
potential borrowers’ ability to afford them. The growth of active real estate listings and months of 
inventory may reflect the overall increase in mortgage interest rates over the past two years, which 
has reduced the affordability of homes.  
 
Population Growth 
 
Population Growth affects the number of homes available for purchase. As shown in Exhibit 27, 
Texas's population has been growing at a rate greater than 1% per year for the past five years 
except for 2020.  
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EXHIBIT 25
Active Real Estate Listing
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EXHIBIT 26
Months of Inventory

https://upforgrowth.org/apply-the-vision/2023-housing-underproduction/
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Source: US Census Bureau 
 
Unless the construction of new homes increases, the continued population growth will impact the 
number of homes available for purchase, driving up the cost of homeownership. 
 
Texas Housing Affordability Index 
 
Housing affordability levels have fallen in all Texas metropolitan areas since 2019, according to 
the Texas Real Estate Center’s Texas Housing Affordability Index (THAI), which measures the 
ability of a household earning the median family income (MFI) to qualify to purchase a median-
priced home. A value of 1.0 indicates the MFI is equal to the amount needed to qualify for a 
mortgage loan for a median-price home. The higher the ratio, the more affordable the housing 
market is in the area.  
 
In 2019, the statewide THAI value was 1.62, meaning that the MFI was 62 percent higher than 
the amount needed to purchase the median-price home in the state of Texas, assuming a down 
payment of 20 percent and a qualifying ratio of 25 percent of income. This value has since 
decreased to 1.07 in 2023, meaning that the MFI is now just 7 percent above the necessary 
income to purchase a median-price home in the state and signaling a decrease in a household’s 
ability to afford a home. 
 
Exhibit 28 reflects the Texas Housing Affordability Index over the past five years. 
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Texas Population Growth (YoY % Change)
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Source: Texas Real Estate Research Center 
 
A more comprehensive analysis of the affordability of homes in Texas is found in The Housing 
Affordability Challenge, published by the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. 
 
Homeownership affordability fell to its lowest level since the 1980s last year as mortgage rates 
reached a 23-year high and home prices set new records.139  
  

 
139 The Cost of Owning a Home Is Skyrocketing – Wall Street Journal 
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EXHIBIT 28
Texas Housing Affordability Index

20% downpayment and 25% of income

https://www.wsj.com/finance/home-ownership-mortgage-interest-rates-122a272f?mod=article_inline
https://www.wsj.com/finance/home-ownership-mortgage-interest-rates-122a272f?mod=article_inline
https://www.wsj.com/economy/housing/housing-affordability-taxes-insurance-costs-rise-bca64df1
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